Fantasy for Armed Forces – Part 1

Indian Army Logo

I was crazy about joining the Defence services & never thought any other profession measured up to it. The olive green uniform of the Indian Army was my ultimate dream & would have been my highest sense of achievement… at least that’s what I feel now being in the civilian sector & with a private job. May be my perception could have change after I went in there, who knows! After all, the grass always seems greener on the other end.

I manoeuvred my studies from the 10th standard, i.e. high school to become eligible to be in the forces. Before I elaborate on that let me give you an idea about the education system here. In India we have 10+2+3 system – till 10th a person is said to be in school, then junior college (if the school doesn’t have +12, i.e. 11th and 12th) and then the three, four or five year graduation, depending on the stream. One can select one of these three branches – Arts, Commerce, Science after completing 10th. So, I scanned the government sites & their placement section with fine speculation and reconfirmed the information from other such sites & even went around the city (had newly shifted to the city from a small town – both located in Maharashtra) finding out and meeting ex military personnel for getting more confirmed information.

IAF Trainee Officers performing Continuity Drill during the Passing Out Parade held at AFTC in Bangalore

I found out one needs to have a Science background with Mathematics and Physics in the 10+2 for being in the Administration department of all the wings of Defence – Army, Navy, Air Force. I can say I was a good student but with more interest in extracurricular activities. May be that’s why I never stood first in class! Anyway, being from a family of predominantly Engineering professionals & Science graduates I was naturally conditioned to believe it is the most revered stream of studies. I scored average in the 10th standard & the much concerned relatives (they are always more concerned about us than own parents in India!) started giving barrage of uncalled for advices about which stream I should take. I did not want to study something new! I knew Science, not Arts or Commerce! The fact that ‘business’ never roused my interest choosing Commerce was a far cry & I loved Literature as hobby. Irrespective of their speculations & insistence I stuck to Science.

So, taking into note the criteria of the necessary subjects to become eligible for the Indian Army (predominantly Army, then Air Force & lastly, the Navy) I chose Maths, Physics & Information Technology as an elective. All this while I never told anything to my parents or any of my friends. Ah! I remember mentioning to my mom once about the eligibility criteria because of the frequent visits to the internet cafe. We did not have a computer at home & internet was just coming up. This was in 2002.

To be continued…

P.S. In the next part I will write about what was my idea about the Armed Forces belonging a small town from childhood. That will help you relate to the content of this post better, like a prelude. I only knew the National Cadet Corps (NCC) as military!

7 thoughts on “Fantasy for Armed Forces – Part 1

  1. Pingback: Fantasy for Armed Forces – Part 2 | Gravity Gate

    • Hey! How do you do? Hope everything’s sailing smooth at your end. Well, comical… This is something so serious & close to my heart that even if something were comical I took it seriously! 😛 But yes, hang on a little – though not comedy some teenage adventures will surely unfurl 😉

      Like

Wud love to hear you; share something...

