Fantasy for Armed Forces – Part 2

I am a bit delayed than I planned to be to continue with my Fantasy for Armed Forces Part 1 story, the part 2nd ๐Ÿ˜› Can I do anything now apart from regretting the delay? Yes! Just get on with it rather than this unnecessary prelude… Alright alright!

"Touch the Sky with Glory"

“Touch the Sky with Glory”

The repeated visits to the internet cafe made me mention to my mom once about my interest in military; not joining the military though. I wasn’t even sure if at all girls like me, who are still studying in junior college, were elegible & should be thinking about joining the Army. My idea of Army, being from a small town was restricted to what I saw in movies (not to forget the lack of exposure of women officers in the action packed movies) and the only touch of reality was the Sunday parade I used to watch thoroughly amazed at how these rugged girls were given guns to handle & run around the dusty ground. That was pretty much about it. I knew nothing about the job profile, pay scale, etc., i.e. whatever a grown up and sane person would evaluate before getting into a profession. I was a teenager for God’s sake and knowing that I would be transferred to remote places with fellow mates was as exciting as it could get & get paid for this stuff too! LoL ๐Ÿ˜€

"The safety, honour and welfare of your country"

“The safety, honour and welfare of your country”

I never knew until few years down the line that the National Cadet Corps (NCC) had three wings too coz the Sunday parade in my town had only brown uniform – the Army wing! The existence of air wing & naval wing tripled my hopes of qualifying for one of them. The dusty ground & the combat uniform was sure very alluring & the sense of freedom in spite of being under stringent commands of the department & enslaving disciplinary routines were a way of getting wings of fire for me. I can go on & on about the sense of pride that filled my heart by just thinking of myself having a letter pad with ‘Lieutenant’ prefixed to my name.

"May the Lord of the Oceans be Auspicious Unto Us"

“May the Lord of the Oceans be Auspicious Unto Us”

I was alone who thought like this in my friend circle & peers. Most of them were goaded or conditioned to think of only the engineering and medicine branches of studies for taking up a career. But, I wanted a way of life for myself; not a job that would give me loads of cash AND I was damn proud of myself to think larger than my mates ๐Ÿ™‚

10 thoughts on “Fantasy for Armed Forces – Part 2

Wud love to hear you; share something...

