I am a Bad Girl

I am not a nice woman, only few like me
because I think it’s not necessary to be liked
After all, how does it matter if people like you or not?

I am mysterious, not easily approachable
People are wary and fear coming near
They think I am hard to get, but I feel
how does it matter even if I am an easy target?

I am branded as a girl with her head high
Can’t mess with her, she has her temper high!
Well, would you respect me more and guarantee you would not cross the line?
I am not a nice girl because I am bothered to keep my image fine

I am not casual, take things seriously – thus I stay aloof
You misunderstand this and tag me haughty – are you not a fool!
You don’t invite me to parties coz you know I don’t gossip
Well, isn’t that what you thrive on! You social goon.

You are anyway going to use your efforts
to come near and discover my methods
I have a way with words they say, but
does it even matter to me that I should care?

Don’t poke me, I like to mind my own business
Dare you touch, I’ll be no less than a tigress
Yes, wounded I am coz I trusted before…
Now am alone and much better off therefore

I am born a girl and brought up as a lady
I can become a man and fend too, if need be
I do have a heart inside my tough wall
No one understands and that’s why I fall

Why come near me when you know I am bad?
Deep down you know you want to raise your own bar…
Then why after knowing me enough you leave a scar?!

I don’t want to be left alone but neither can I seek attention…
I have my pride & a fair share of ego with apprehension
What if you turn back & call me a beggar?
What if you say, just go back & call me never?

I am a bad woman coz I respect myself
I have a fragile heart & I protect it by all self
Sad thing is that you’ve made your mind…
That I am a bad woman & not your kind…

10 thoughts on “I am a Bad Girl

  1. Nice one.. I love your posts.. Infact, I started following them coz these are my feelings too… Sometimes, I feel as if you are writing from my heart.. Thats why love reading them… Keep up the good work…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Nithya, for the first time I don’t know if I should thank for the compliment… 😦 I will pray that your pain vanishes soon. Sharing anonymously kind of gives me some solace as then people wouldn’t say that we seek sympathy 🙂

      Like

  2. Hey, the post is really very well put up. And I feel that people who stand by their own values face problems, because people of this world, the so called 21st century cannot tolerate values and so when a person like you stands for values, have to strive hard and face the problems. But then the people you have in your life are the ones who really care for you and understand you.. So never feel you are alone.. and I am sure a day will come when people will also understand and value you..

    Liked by 1 person

    • My dear Sonal, first and foremost let me thank you wholeheartedly for reading my post and for your kind words of deep understanding and support for me. There is a huge solace in feeling ‘accepted’ when people think you’re abnormal or a lame rebel. What I try to stand for is basic justice and nothing else, really…

      I sure am lucky to have quite a few gems in life that they term as ‘friends.’ My Dad says, “Even if you have a single true friend in a lifetime, consider yourself lucky” and my Mom’s definition of a good friend is one who doesn’t leave your side according to his convenience & has the respect for you to stand by you when no one does. One who values you for who you are without any riches & flattering materialistic things. They are right & you certainly have been with me through all my fights and accomplishments. I ❤ you a LOT!
      Lastly, I only hope people don’t give up on me until they know me beyond their 'need' 🙂

      Like

  3. It takes a special person, a strong person, to be truly counter culture, and it sounds like you are extremely counter to your culture — some of it by choice, but mostly because of who you are. I hope you have the strength to continue on where you are or, if you cannot, at least find a place where people will allow you to be who you are, and succeed by virtue of who you are.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Timothy Sir, I can’t tell you how touched I am by your words. What you could gauge through my post is absolutely true & I really appreciate your hope for me as a well-wisher to find a place where I can be myself without being looked down upon or seen through the thick lenses of patriarchal prejudice.

      Thanks a tonne Sir for being so generous with your kind words & compliments. It means a lot to me! 🙂

      Like

Wud love to hear you; share something...

